Sans Coffee

I’ve come away from the land where the knell rings and into the land where life and labour sings, yet I sit here at my desk bored to the extent that my favourite pastime is just another dismissed thought. I was so happy to be free of the stillness and dampness of that faded first city and was so ready to live and lead myself into the future, but instead, I cannot keep my eyes open and a heavy lethargy sets upon me, calming me to a fault. The lullaby of shadowed tombs and fallen bones sings me softly to sleep into a poisoned slumber from which awakening is a struggle too hard to keep.

Leave a Reply

