Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge – Day 1

Sheth very kindly nominated me for Darshith’s Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. Thanks! If I said I’m not excited then I’d be lying. The challenge is – “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.”

I’ve decided to convert this challenge to something of a themed series. The Bengali beast in me has suddenly grown wild. I’m not sure if its because of the typical Bengali lunch we’ve just had, but I feel at the top of my Bengali game. To start off, here’s a picture my dad took when he accompanied his parents to Bangladesh to visit our ancestral roots last year. Our families had moved to Kolkata decades before the partition, but we’re very proud of our Barisal roots. Barisal is a district in the southern parts of Bangladesh, and if you’ve heard anything of Barisal Bengalis you’ll know exactly why I’m doing this.

This isn’t Bangladesh, East Pakistan, West Bengal or India. It’s Bengal.

DSC07821

His spirit looked into the water,
Lush green and blue sky
The dark earth whispered, softer and softer
Of the blood of her sons who died.
“Too long you’ve been gone,
The boat has finally set sail
To the land of your heart
Alas, for not one lives to tell the tale.”

I’m going to nominate https://narnia310.wordpress.com/ because I really want to see more of her work!

6 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge – Day 1

  1. You are one interesting human being. 🙂 I feel so ugh that I never managed to come across this blog of yours. So, so glad to be back. And, thank you for acknowledging the nomination and taking up the challenge. All the five posts are amazing. You definitely did it justice, consecutive days or not. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello again! It’s great to see you here after such a long time! That’s partly my fault because I went on a purging session of the old blogs, sry about that. Thanks for nominating me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

